Turning My Thinking Around

Posted on February 11, 2009. Filed under: gratitute, smiles and laughter |

At the moment I am having trouble forgiving myself

In my 2nd abusive relationship I remember the older children hiding under the desk in my daughters room.  They were cowering there hugging each other.  When my partner at that stage got angry.  I am having flashbacks of this a lot at the moment.

I feel guilty that I have been in these relationships where they havent felt or been treated right.

I need to forgive myself.  Much easier said than done. I was talking to my awesome friend today (Tracey) I am so so blessed to have her in my life.

I have decided though talking to her to start writing each day something I can be grateful for and also one thing that made me smile or laugh.

Feel free to join me if you want to

gratitude

I am grateful to my friend Tracey

for all the love and support she gives meT

its much easier having here there for me than it is going through this alone as I have done so in the past where even my neighbour didnt know what was happening

I thank God each day for her 🙂

picnik-collageReading an email from my cousin in the UK made me smile

She is older than me and is full of wisdom

I often wish she was my mother

shes very special too – loving, supporting and encouraging me 🙂

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

10 Responses to “Turning My Thinking Around”

RSS Feed for Being filled up completely with joy and peace – overflowing with confident hope Comments RSS Feed

I’m glad that you have these special people in your life. It is often more difficult to forgive ourselves than it is to forgive others. We are our own toughest critics.

Give yourself a pat on the back for getting out of this abusive relationship, for getting outside support to help your homeschooler work through what he is feeling and for being a great Mum. I have an award I am going to post on my blog for you later on. Glad you have a friend alongside you Jen! Take Care – Rachaelxo

PTL for your cousin and your friend, they are awesome to have! I think we need to forgive ourselves for alot of things, I’m working on some issues in me too…

You’ve done so well Jen, don’t be hard on yourself. It’s not easy to take the steps you have taken. I’m glad you have people to talk to. *hugs*

It took a lot of strength and courage to leave those destructive relationships. I am so proud of you.

As you know I have also been in two abusive relationships. The hardest part for me was to forgive them and took many years to do.

It is very good to have the support that you are receiving, you cannot do this alone.

hello dahling –

you are so brave revisiting this phase in your life jen, you were brave then too – and you did leave –

but yes, yes, forgiving ourselves takes time – and i think there are “onion rings” to our forgiveness of self.

as each memory returns, maybe you can do some healthy self talk to get through the moment? and i love your idea of writing beautiful things down every day.
love you X

Sweet friend, give yourself some slack. Your relationship didn’t happen overnight and you can’t expect to recover from it overnight. I’m glad you have a good friend and some support as you start over again.

It will get a little better every day now, until suddenly one day you’ll realize that you’re happy and doing so much better.

Have a good rest of your week, my friend. 🙂

Love and big hugs,

Diane

It’s such a blessing to have a true and wise friend by our sides when times are rough. It sounds like you have one of those.

me too Devildogwife

awww thanks Rachael, LS, Leti, Katie (love you too girl), Diane

PTL??? Amy and Im thinking of you dear friend

Susanne I am so very blessed praise the Lord for He is GOOD!!! 🙂

It sounds like you have a lot to be grateful for. And you are right, you can’t blame yourself. All you can do is move forward. You are a loving mom and that will help your children more than anything.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

